Jesus said that he can nothing apart from the Father. He also said in John 15:5 that we can do nothing apart from him. How we tend to forget that all too often. I have found that in myself there is nothing good. I’m weak, and I’m broken for real.

I want to put my trust in so many things along with Christ. My ability to be responsible, to be a good salesmen, to always having a clean house, having good credit, playing basketball, being able to speak clearly, being able to share in a meeting with the saints. Don’t get me wrong there is nothing wrong with being a good steward of what the Lord has given you, but when we put our trust in our abilities to do these things that’s where we mess up. It’s in Christ alone, we can do anything. See I’m not responsible, nor a good salesmen, nor a good basketball player, etc… those are qualities of Christ. I depend on him for everything. literally every breath, every movement, everything. If he doesn’t do it, it can’t be done.

The only thing that prevents us from living by his life for the most part in these things is our pride. He resists the proud, but gives grace to the humble. I have a lot of pride, and when it gets hurt I get offended. When however, I realize I can do nothing and the humility of our Lord kicks in that’s when life comes, grace, understanding. We want to help the Lord, but trust me he’s really good at what he does. I have no ability but Christ in me.

